Learning from Recent British Information Literacy Models – A Report

Let’s see what others in the world are doing.

A report, released in January 2013, to ACRL’s Information Literacy Competency Standards for Higher Education Task Force describes the following four British information literacy models currently in use in the United Kingdom:

– ANCIL (A New Curriculum for Information Literacy)

– SCONUL (Society of College, National and University Libraries)

– National Information Literacy Framework Scotland (The Scottish framework)

Information Literacy Framework for Wales (The Welsh framework)

The author, Justine L. Martin of Minnesota State University at Mankato, uses “ground theory” qualitative method to analyze documents and interview data. Also provided is “Mapping British Models to ACRL Information Literacy Standards” (Appendix 2), which I found informative.

According to the author, creating guidelines is one step in revising information literacy standards because IL is an evolving concept and, “as such, professionals will continue to adapt frameworks to meet the needs of today’s information users.”

Full report (51 pages) can be viewed at http://mavdisk.mnsu.edu/martij2/acrl.pdf

About Di Su

Librarian at York College Library.
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.